Meditation Station

If there is one small pocket of pleasure I love, it has to be my time for meditation.
wp-image-195827257jpg.jpgAs a British School of Yoga trained meditation teacher, I love teaching and indeed practicing the art of mindfulness.
Mindfulness has been described as many things, but I like to think of it as being in the moment. Enjoying my surroundings, no I mean really enjoying my surroundings.  That is being aware of it, seeing it, seeing the colours, feeling it and having all senses awake at that moment in time.
If you have ever wanted to try meditation, a nice one I do at least once a day is a simple breathing meditation that brings my mind directly into tune with my breathing pattern.
So what about the meditation Mala beads in the picture you ask. Well I use this to judge my timing of my meditation so I know when I have touched each bead in the circle, starting at the main bead with the tassel and finishing at the same spot, my time is up and I stop meditating. A stop watch will do to begin with, but a Mala is another sensory aspect of the mindfulness experience.
Back to the meditation!
I sit in a comfortable position, sometimes in a chair, on a cushion or in fact anywhere really, close my eyes and just concentrate on my breathing. Feeling my breath come in, holding it for a couple of seconds then feeling it leave my body as I breathe out.
An easy way to do this, is to breathe in, hold then slowly release and count to yourself after each exhale.
This is what it looks like.
Breathe in…..hold…..breathe out…..1
Breathe in…..hold…..breathe out…..2
Breathe in…..hold…..breathe out…..3 and so on.
Try to get up to the number ten.
If you forget to count just start again. After a few times you will get used to it and it will become second nature. You can do this for as long as you want as many times a day you feel you need to take stock and relax.
But remember. Breathe in slowly and breathe out nice and slow also as we don’t want you passing out!
And that folks is a short introduction into a little pocket of pleasure of mindful meditation.
Look out as more meditations may follow!
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

